Newbie question

Community Forums Forums Design Tips and Tricks Newbie question

This topic is: not resolved

This topic contains 7 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  ruidoblanco 8 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

ruidoblanco
    Participant

Hello! i am new in this great community of Genesis users!

I have a blog working on a free template, but i bought yesterday Genesis+Metro Theme and i want to use it in my blog.

I am not a webmaster, i have done all by my own, learning, reading, etc..

My question is…

Can i test the blog with the Genesis+Metro theme, without affecting the actual design?
    I have visits everyday, i don’t want to make changes “on-air”

My idea is to test and make all the changes, and then, switch to the theme Genesis+Metro Theme, when everything work perfect!

Can i do that?
    How can i do it?

I really appreciate any help from you, guys!!!!!!!!!!

thank you!

http://www.comedera.com

anitac
    Participant

Well, you cannot actually do it with your current content. You can set up a demo website under your url… something like http://comedera.com/newsite. Install WordPress again there and then install Genesis & Metro. You can customize it there. When you are happy with it, then you can transfer the theme over to http://comedera.com and activate it.

Let me help you customize your theme, responsive header, Buddypress, Agentpress or technical issue!
    Visit me here: Cre8tiveDiva.com | Tweet Me! | Plus Me!
    When asking for help, please provide a link or screen shot showing your problem!

ruidoblanco
    Participant

@anitac thank you for the answer!!

basically i need to clone all content, and work on a new site and the when i feel happy with the result i just copy the folders of the theme to the main site?

anitac
    Participant

Yes, exactly!

Let me help you customize your theme, responsive header, Buddypress, Agentpress or technical issue!