Removing main-area from front page

Community Forums Forums General Discussion Removing main-area from front page

This topic is: not resolved

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  braddalton 10 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

JoakimB

Hi!

I’m working with a customisation of the Minimum Pro Theme and I have a question.
    Bear in mind that this is my first time working with Genesis, so my question might have been answered already and I just couldn’t find it. I may also be way off concerning the way to use hooks and filters properly.

I’m trying to set up a front page with just a header, a footer and 8 widget areas of custom size and positioning.

What I’m wondering is therefore:

Is there an easy (relatively) way of removing the <div class=”content-sidebar-wrap”>-element with all of its content.

I’ve successfully removed the loop and the sidebar, but the div still appears and messes up my layout.
    What I’ve done is: In my front-page.php file I’ve added remove_action( ‘genesis_loop’, ‘genesis_do_loop’ ); and remove_action( ‘genesis_after_content’, ‘genesis_get_sidebar’ ); within an if ( is_home() )-statement.

Where should I go from here? Any suggestions or comments on my work so far?

Oh, and I’ve managed to add all the widget areas with the add_action( ‘genesis_before_content_sidebar_wrap’ ) hook thingy.

I may also have posted this in the wrong forum section… my bad, sorry.

Thanks in advance,
    Joakim

• This topic was modified 10 months, 3 weeks ago by  JoakimB.
    • This topic was modified 10 months, 3 weeks ago by  JoakimB.
    http://tankesmedjantiden.se.preview.binero.se

braddalton
    Participant

JoakimB

So basically what you would do is replacing the loop with widgets, but keeping them inside of the content-sidebar-wrap?

braddalton
    Participant

You can use any layout you like and change any of the hooks in the template.