Lisa at OG

Forum Replies Created

Viewing 15 posts - 31 through 45 (of 80 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • in reply to: Remove featured image not working properly in Crystal Theme #69392

    Lisa at OG
    Participant
    Post count: 106

    Hi Sridhar, yes the problem is present in IE 10 and Chrome — also on an iPad.

    Thanks Gary for the correction. I should have said Javascript.

    • This reply was modified 9 months ago by  Lisa at OG.
    • This reply was modified 9 months ago by  Lisa at OG.
    in reply to: NextGen Gallery Alternatives #69389

    Lisa at OG
    Participant
    Post count: 106

    Hi there, @eamonmoriarty, as of yesterday they were still working on some kinks with the NextGen Importer but they did release a new version and said the issues were fixed. I’ll be trying it out tomorrow morning and will report back if it worked well or not.

    Tracy, I don’t currently see a skin that does both portrait and landscape images in the same gallery; however, the plugin makes it VERY easy to add your own skins and make custom changes to CSS so this is probably something you could set up yourself if need be. Also, they developers in the forum at MaxGalleria seem very responsive to users and it could be a suggestion they might implement.

    BTW, we have implemented on two client sites so far and both sites load WAY faster without the NextGen plugin. These guys are using the native WordPress media gallery PLUS I think they are using Ajax because the page doesn’t refresh everytime you click a thumb and the larger image changes.

    • This reply was modified 9 months ago by  Lisa at OG.
    • This reply was modified 9 months ago by  Lisa at OG.
    in reply to: NextGen Gallery Alternatives #69175

    Lisa at OG
    Participant
    Post count: 106

    Well I can share some results for a new plugin we are trying (yes, in order to keep things user friendly for our non techie clients we are still considering a third party plugin – sigh) called MaxGalleria. Just installed to Legacy Theme on Genesis and upgraded to WordPress 3.7 without a hitch! Yep — that’s right no troubleshooting required.

    So far we’ve created a demo environment (visit http://www.originalginger.com/demos/legacy1140/test-max-galleria/) and tested several of the skins and templates on the most recent 3 versions of the major browsers (IE, Firefox, Chrome, Opera, Safari) as well as the iPad and the iPhone. It is responsive.

    I’ve also been asking plenty of questions in the forum and their moderator got back to me today (on a weekend just like with Studiopress) with ALL of the answers I needed; although, I had very few issues. The interface in the WordPress dashboard for MaxGalleria is also WAY more user friendly than NextGen’s was. Also, it is not a “pig” that slows down my site loading either.

    Lastly, I had a request to add multiple caption links to each image for a specific client. The moderator (also a developer) altered and sent me a download w/ a quick fix to use it the way I needed to. All of that for the personal version of the plugin at a cheap $29 per year. We will be upgrading to the developer’s unlimited use version for $99/year. I don’t mind paying when it works “out of the box” and the customer service is so great. My clients will love it because they can make it “pretty” too.

    I’d be interested to hear any feedback from anyone else here who decides to try it or check it out. Please keep the feedback coming.

    in reply to: NextGen Gallery Alternatives #69140

    Lisa at OG
    Participant
    Post count: 106

    Thanks all for these great suggestions. I’m looking into all of these great lightbox plugins in the hopes of finding something that will work with the native WordPress media gallery. Like @Mealtog we don’t want to rely on too many third party plugins because they get discontinued or stop working well w/ upgrades to Genesis and WordPress. I’ll report back with my findings once we settle on a solution. It’s great to have all the feedback.

    in reply to: NextGen Gallery Alternatives #69001

    Lisa at OG
    Participant
    Post count: 106

    The links in caption are working. The issue we have is that NextGen breaks when you upgrade to WordPress 3.7. There is a major conflict. Also, since the original developer sold it and the new owners did some fancy updates — it conflicts with almost every popular known WordPress plugin. So we are looking for alternatives but we need to have linking capability sometimes more than one link in the caption of some images.

    Thanks for the suggestion on Jquery Lightbox.

    in reply to: Remove featured image not working properly in Crystal Theme #69000

    Lisa at OG
    Participant
    Post count: 106

    As per my thread above we are on the most up to date Java. Sadly, that didn’t resolve the issue for us. Fortunately, we have w work around – it’s not at a stand still. It’s just frustrating not to understand why it won’t work for us.

    in reply to: Remove featured image not working properly in Crystal Theme #68995

    Lisa at OG
    Participant
    Post count: 106

    Anita, good question. I wonder if Gary uses a Mac. I’m on a PC using Windows 7.

    in reply to: NextGen Gallery Alternatives #68994

    Lisa at OG
    Participant
    Post count: 106

    Thank you Anita. Good to know. We’ll check it out. Does it allow more than one link per image by any chance? Also, do you using any kind of lightbox plugin with it that you would recommend?

    Thanks.

    in reply to: Remove featured image not working properly in Crystal Theme #68974

    Lisa at OG
    Participant
    Post count: 106

    Gary has done some research for us and for some reason he is not having the same issue as we are. We have tried many different things like update Javascript on our computer, using different browsers (doesn’t appear to be a browser issue). We even tried it on an iPad with the same result – we can’t remove a featured image using the text link — we can only remove it by clicking on the image itself. So how come Gary can access the client site and use the text link to remove featured images but we can’t.

    Good questions. Anybody got any other suggestions? In the meantime, Gary thanks for trying to assist us.

    in reply to: Remove featured image not working properly in Crystal Theme #68257

    Lisa at OG
    Participant
    Post count: 106

    Just sent it via gamajo.com form. Thanks.

    in reply to: Remove featured image not working properly in Crystal Theme #68239

    Lisa at OG
    Participant
    Post count: 106

    Hi Gary, appreciate the help with this. We used backup buddy and reproduced the site on our server. We made the changes you suggested above and there appears to be a syntax error someplace in the code because it won’t save properly.

    Having said that, we will give you Admin access to the actual client site so that you can take a look and see what’s happening w/ this theme. How do I privately send you the login credentials?

    in reply to: Remove featured image not working properly in Crystal Theme #68106

    Lisa at OG
    Participant
    Post count: 106

    Gary, I can’t find the support URL. Yes, we have done customizations to the Crystal theme but nothing that would affect the featured image functionality. Any customizations done were ages ago when the site was first built and it was working great. No customizations have happened since. The only trigger may have been the updates to WordPress and Genesis.

    We would not want to update to Crystal 1.0.1 because we’d have to re-add all of our custom CSS. This is frustrating. This is the only client with the Crystal theme. It appears the issue is specific to Crystal Theme.

    in reply to: Remove featured image not working properly in Crystal Theme #68091

    Lisa at OG
    Participant
    Post count: 106

    We have not added any addt’l plugins since we first built the site some time ago. They were all working no problem. We have since disabled ALL plugins to see if it would work and it did NOT. Sadly, this would have been an easy fix. Not so lucky though. None of the other StudioPress themes seem to have this issue – ONLY this Crystal Theme. We posted in WordPress.org and they said it was definitely a “theme-related” issue.

    Any other suggestions?

    in reply to: Navigation Vertical Alignment #54779

    Lisa at OG
    Participant
    Post count: 106

    Whoops, figured it out. I needed to address the vertical alignment using a margin-top and single out each menu item by it’s ID #. Yeahhh!!!

    in reply to: Youtube Widget or Player #50173

    Lisa at OG
    Participant
    Post count: 106

    Hi there,

    I would recommend a plugin called WP Video Lightbox. It allows you to replace the image thumbnail with one of your own, it will open in a lightbox and you can determine the size you want it to be.

    As for disabling related videos from playing at the end of the current video, just ensure that when you go to get the embed code from YouTube that you “uncheck” the “Show Suggested Videos When the Video Finishes” option.

    There may be a way to remove the title display. You’d have to check the plugin tips and tricks.

    As for disallowing people from clicking through to YouTube — there is likely no way to do that (it certainly wouldn’t be to Google’s advantages to allow that). But if you use the lightbox people are less likely to leave anyways because they can view the video right within your website and it’s convenient. BTW, this plugin is compatible for smart phones and all major browsers.

Viewing 15 posts - 31 through 45 (of 80 total)